Airbus Defence and Space

Bemannte Raumfahrt All news

ATV-2 has left the ISS

Johannes Kepler will fire its engines twice to descend from orbit

The European Space Agency has announced that Europe’s Johannes Kepler ATV cargo ferry, built by Airbus Defence and Space, undocked from the International Space Station yesterday at 14:46:30 GMT (16:46:30 CEST). The craft is now leaving the orbital outpost far behind and will end its mission this evening as a shooting star over the Pacific Ocean.

Johannes Kepler will fire its engines twice to descend from orbit. The first burn, at 17:07 GMT (19:07 CEST), will drop it towards Earth. The second burn, at 20:52 GMT (22:52 CEST), will direct it precisely towards its South Pacific target.

ATV undocking

ATV-CC in Toulouse seen just before the ATV-2 undocked from the ISS. (© ESA - J. Makinen)

Under contract to the European Space Agency (ESA), Airbus Defence and Space is industrial prime contractor for the ATV.

 


Read more about :

Flying colours for the ATV Johannes Kepler mission

The ATV Dossier

ISSATV